Draft Report – 4 man Rotisserie , 13/05/11

Hey guys!

I got a chance to do a real (not virtual) Rotisserie draft today, a first! I got to cube with three of my four regulars : Ben, Michael and Finn.

After deciding to play 4 man free-for-all, everyone opened strong in the drafting, with Black Lotus, Sol Ring, Ancestral Recall and Vindicate being the first picks. Soon Mind Twist, Sword of Fire and Ice, Time Walk and Recurring Nightmare followed.

At the draft progressed, archetypes became evident ; Michael was playing a controlling counterburn build, Finn was in WU superfriends control, and Ben in GWB rock. Here was my problem ; I was at this point seven or eight picks into GB survival rock, and ended up hoping to make a reanimator deck ; At which point Ben took necromancy and reanimate. This lead me to try a stax build, taking Braids and Tangle Wire.  I quickly moved out of this when I realised that I don’t have enough support for that deck to make it, which lead me to start taking Kitchen Finks, Kokusho, Grave Titan and Myr Battlesphere, and try and get some recurring nightmare synergies.

At the table, everyone started slowly, until Ben dropped a turn 3 balance, causing us all to go to 4 cards and two land.Michael discarded Rolling Earthquake here, so I thought he had a sick hand. I discarded Grave Titan and Kokusho from my hand, hoping to draw recurring nightmare. During his next turn, Ben then animate dead’d my Grave Titan, and proceeded to kill Finn’s planeswalkers, whilst Michael and I played our usual tactic of ‘sponge’.

After a series of planeswalkers,swords and huge zombies being thrown around, Finn was eventually defeated by Ben. At which point, I drew Recurring Nightmare and started flipping Kokusho and Myr Battlesphere and (at one point) Terastodon, destroying Loxodon Warhammer, Sword of Body and Mind and Jitte.I only got to make 8 tokens and gain 10 life before Ben Mind Twisted me for my entire hand, causing me to dump 5 cards to the yard. Eventually, Ben overwhelmed michael and I with an army of protection knights and zombies.

For reference, here’s my decklisst:

  • Maze of Ith
  • Kokusho, the evening star
  • Black Sun’s Zenith
  • Myr Battlesphere
  • Profane Command
  • Wild Mongrel
  • Acidic Slime
  • Vengevine
  • Survival of the Fittest
  • Thornling
  • Bloodghast
  • Mox Jet
  • Grave Titan
  • Terastodon
  • Recurring Nightmare
  • Doomblade
  • Kitchen Finks
  • Liliana’s Specter
  • Genesis
  • Verdant Catacombs
  • Volrath’s Strongholf
  • Consuming Vapors
  • Braids, Cabal Minion
  • Sol Ring
  • Sensei’s Divining Top
  • Vampire Hexmage
  • Sword of Fire and Ice
  • Bonehoard

All in all, a good day, and I’ve learned I really enjoy Rotisserie draft!

Thanks for reading,

Sexy.

(ps, I’m writing another, better draft report on the MTGS rotissierie draft, so look out for it!)

Leave a Reply

