Milestone

Hey!

I just wanted to thank everyone who reads this blog, as it reached 1000 views yesterday! Yaaay!  (props to whoever actually googled ‘sexy 360 cube blog’ – you da man!)

I wanted to celebrate this in a weird way ; I myself am not a good magic player. Heck, I’m probably on the poor side of average. My knowledge of cube is satisfactory, and within a cubing community, I like to think I’m on the good side of average. In my efforts to improve as a player, I’ve recently been reading a lot of articles about magic in general, and I just wanted to share some with you, since some of them have changed how I think about the game, whereas others were just useful tips.

In general, these are just abstract guides about playing magic, but some of them have real implications for cube. I also understand that most of you will be able to read these and say ‘herp a derp, that’s obvious’ but for a new player, or an intermediate like myself, these are actually pretty useful.

Is that your card? by The Ferret – He deals pretty sweetly with how you shouldn’t judge cards based on a one-time blow out.

The Tao of Silent Bob – Ken Collier quickly describes 10 mistakes most players make. Whether some of them are really mistakes or style points is up to you.

The Philosophy of Fire

Who’s the Beatdown? – Probably the most important article I’ve read in a long time.

On the Clock pt. 2 – Zvi Mowschowitz describes the benefits of playing faster,and how to do so.

Mmmmmmana…Five rules for avoiding mana screw – Exactly what it sounds like.

Tempo and Card Advantage – Eric Taylor describes tempo perfectly, and explains the real value of card advantage.

Seven Coins – I actually prefer the latter half of this article, but it’s full of useful information.

Thanks for reading, and I hope you enjoy the articles,
Sexy.

Leave a Reply

